AIAL ESSAY PRIZE

The Australian Institute of Administrative Law was established in 1989. The Objects of the Institute include:

"(a) to promote knowledge of and interest in administrative law;"

and

"(d) to publish and encourage the publication of papers, articles and commentaries about administrative law;".

To further these objects, the Institute has decided to conduct an annual competition for the AIAL Essay Prize in Administrative Law.

A prize of \$A2,000 will be awarded to the author of an essay displaying original thinking on a topic of the author's choice relating to administrative law.

The competition is open to any interested persons.

COMPETITION RULES

- Entries must be unpublished essays which are the original work of the author. They may be on any topic relating to administrative law.
- 2. The winning entry is likely to exhibit original ideas on issues of importance in the practice of administrative law or administrative law theory.
- 3. Entries should be about 10,000 words in length.
- 4. All entries should be on A4 paper and typed well spaced. The original and two copies together with a disk of each essay should be submitted. The name of the author and a short biography should be included on a detachable page. The author's name should not appear on the essay or copies.
- Entries should be addressed to Secretary, AIAL, PO Box 3149, BMDC, ACT, 2617, Australia, and must be received by 1 March 1997.
- 6. The winning entry will be determined by the Executive of the Institute acting on the recommendation of a committee of the Executive. The award of the prize shall be in the absolute discretion of the Executive. The Executive may determine not to award the prize in any year.
- 7. The prize will be \$A2,000.
- 8. The prize is expected to be awarded at the Annual Forum of the Institute.
- The winning essay will normally be published by the Institute. It is a condition of entry to the competition that the winning essay will not be published elsewhere without the prior approval of the AIAL.

Further information relating to the competition may be directed to Emeritus Professor Dennis Pearce, Centre for International and Public Law, Faculty of Law, Australian National University, Canberra ACT 0200.