The ABA has finalised licence area plans which provide several community and open narrowcasting radio services across Australia.

LAPS offer new radio services

licence area plans for community and open narrowcasting radio in Lord Howe Island, the Murrayville region of Victoria, the Torres Strait region of Queensland, the Bordertown, Kangaroo Island and Woomera regions of South Australia, the Nhulunbuy region of the Northern Territory, and Remote Western Australia.

State of the second second second

Channels have been made available for community radio services for Lord Howe Island (NSW), Kangaroo Island (SA), Broome, Derby, Halls Creek, Fitzroy Crossing, Meekatharra, Christmas Island and the Cocos Island (WA). The ABA has also extended the licence area of the existing community radio service 5RRR Woomera to include the towns of Olympic Dam, Roxby Downs and Andamooka (WA).

Channels have also been made available for opennarrowcasting radio services at Torres Strait (Qld), Beagle Bay, Broome, Carnamah, Coorow, Cue, Derby, Fitzroy Crossing, Halls Creek, Jerramungup, Kalbarri, kununurra, Laverton, Leinster, Leonora, Marble Bar, Meek-Meek, Mingenew, Morawa, Mt Magnet, Mullewa, Newman, Nhulunbuy, Pannawonica, Perenjori, Roxby Downs,

the ABA has finalised its Telfer, Three Springs, Warmun, ice to be provided by SAT FM and the Torres Strait. Wiluna, Woomera and Wyndham (WA).

Licence area plans

A licence area plan (LAP) describes the number and characteristics of radio and/ or television services to be made available for allocation in an area.

Main issues

Commercial radio

Bordertown, Kangaroo Island, Nhulunbuy and Woomera are part of the commercial radio licence area of 8SAT.The Torres Strait is part of the commercial radio licence area of 4SUN. Both are satellite delivered commercial radio services which have yet to commence operation. Extension of the 8SAT licence area to include Lord Howe Island and Murrayville is being considered. Due to the size of the 8SAT and 4SUN licence areas, issues concerning commercial radio will be addressed as part of larger LAPs.

The remote region of Western Australia currently has access to one commercial radio service (6FMS) which is provided by Golden West Network Pty Ltd, and an additional remote commercial radio servPty Ltd (6SAT) is apparently due to commence its service in the near future.

No additional channels have been made for commercial radio services in the remote regions of Western Australia due to a lack of entrepreneurial interest for such services.

Community radio

The decision to make a channel available for a community radio service at Kangaroo Island, Torres Strait, Broome, Derby, Halls Creek, Fitzroy Crossing and Meekatharra follows interest expressed by an aspirant community groups. The licences for community radio services will be allocated via a merit based selection process.

The external territories of Lord Howe Island, Christmas Island and Cocos Island, which were not covered by the broadcasting legislation prior to the introduction of the Broadcasting Services Act 1992, will each have a community radio licence made available for allocation.

Open narrowcasting

Open narrowcasting services have been made available following interest expressed by aspirant groups in providing services in Nhulunbuy and the Woomera, Roxby Downs

The ABA is currently developing a system for issuing open narrowcasting licences and expects licences for these services to be issued via an auction later this year.

The ABA made a channel available on Thursday Island for open narrowcasting on a temporary basis in December 1992. The channel will continue to be made available for the existing service until expiration of the licence (31 December 1996). Following expiration of the licence, a new licence will be made available under a price-based allocation system.

Since the release of the draft plans in July 1995, interest has been expressed by the TAB of Western Australia in providing low/medium power open narrowcasting radio services to provide racing information to 28 locations in the remote region of Western Australia.

a sugar da sugar The LAPs for Boardertown, Kangaroo Island, Lord Howe Island, the Murrayville region of Victoria, Woomera regions of South Australia, Torres Strait, the Nhulunbuy region of the Northern Terrority and Remote region of Western Australia, will be available for viewing at public libraries in the regions, or can be obtained from the ABA by calling Freecall 1800 810 241.