





ABA members

SYDNEY: From 5 October 1997, the ABA members will be:

Chairman: Professor David Flint AM

Appointed 5 October for 3 years. Professor Flint, Professor of Law, has been Chairman of the Australian Press Council since 1987. He has been National President (Australia) of the World Jurists Association since 1995, and Chairman, Executive Council of World Association of Press Councils since 1992. Professor Flint was also Convenor/ Chairman of the Commitee of Australian Law Deans from 1992 to 1993.

Deputy Chairman: Mr Gareth Grainger

Appointed 23 July 1997 for 3 years. Mr Grainger was previously General Manager, ABA Policy and Programs Division, taking up his appointment in December 1993. Before his appointment to the ABA, Mr Grainger was Visiting Associate Professor Bond University Law School in 1993, and Head of Resources and Marketing at SBS in 1992-93.

Member: Mr Michael Gordon-Smith

Apointed 15 September 1997 for 3 years. For almost five years Mr Gordon-Smith has been the Excutive Director of the Screen Producers Association of Australia (SPAA). Mr Gordon-Smith is a trustee of the industry superannuation fund, JUST Super and a member of its investment committee. He is also a director of the Audio Visual Copyright Society.

Before joining SPAA, Mr Gordon-Smith held policy advising and management positions in a number of Federal Government departments. He began his career by abandoning an engineering scholarship to pursue an Honors degree in Philosophy.

Clockwise from below: Professor David Flint, Mr Gareth Grainger, Mr Michael Gordon-Smith, John Rimmer, Mr lan Robertson, Ms Kerrie Henderson.













Part-time members:

Kerrie Henderson

Appointed 17 February 1995 for five years. From 1994 to mid-1997, Ms Henderson was also Director, Leadership Programmes with The St James Ethics Centre. Ms Henderson remains a professional associate of the Centre, consulting in the area of cross-cultural business ethics. She also works in the area of crosscultural business management and expatriate training, with a particular emphasis on Indonsesia. Ms Henderson is a member of the NSW Executive of the Australia-Indonesia Business Council Ltd and was the first female director of that organisation.

Ian Robertson

Appointed 23 July 1997 for three years. Mr Roberston is a Managing Partner with Holding Redlich, Lawyers and Consultants. He is Deputy Chair of Film Australia Limited, a director of Melbourne Parks and Waterways, and a member of the Advisory board of the RMIT Media and Telecommunications Policy Group. He was previously Corporate Solicitor with David Syme & Co. Limited.

John Rimmer

Appointed 5 October for three years. Mr Rimmer is a consultant and director with Acuity Consulting Limited, and, until March 1997, was Executive Director of Multimedia Victoria. He is a member of the Australia Council and Chair of its New Media Arts Fund, and a member of the Library Board of Victoria. Mr Rimmer specialises in public policy, strategic management and the impact of new multimedia, information and communications technology on national development and the business strategies of public and private sector organisations.

Outgoing Members and Staff

The current ABA Chairman, Mr Peter Webb, completes his term on 4 October. Member, Mr Tim O'Keefe has given notice of his resignation effective 15 September.

Farewell

General Manager of Planning and Corporate services, Mr Colin Knowles resigned as of 22 August 1997. Mr Knowles has taken up a position as Head of Technology, Strategy and Development at the ABC.

Manager, Codes & Conditions, Mr Nick Herd resigned as of 29 August 1997. Mr Herd has been appointed Chairman of the Screen Producers Association of Australia.