## Workplan for allocating community broadcasting licences

The ABA has made 114 new community broadcasting radio licences available as a result of its planning process. The ABA has allocated 40 licences and is currently considering the allocation of 17 more (see table 1).

The ABA proposes to call for applications for a further 18 licences by 31 December 1999 (see table 2).

Licences listed in table 3 are those for which there is no known aspirant or the ABA has given the aspirant time to develop its service before calling for applications. Table 4

Table 1: Licence allocations commenced

	Area	No. of licences	Closing date
NSW	Cessnock/Maitland	1	15 September
	Coffs Harbour	1	closed
	Kempsey	1	closed
	Lake Macquarie	1	15 September
	Lightning Ridge	1	15 September
	Murrundi/Muswellb	prook 1	closed
	Narrabri	1 -	closed
	Newcastle	-1	closed
	Port Macquarie	- 1	closed
	Taree	1 -	closed
Vic	Bendigo	2	closed
Qld	Bowen	1	22 September
	Bundaberg	1	closed
	Cunnamulla	1	closed
	Emerald	1 -	closed
	Hervey Bay	1	closed
Total		17	

Table 2: Licences: allocations to start by 31 December 1999

Area		No. of	Expected
		licences	date
ACT	Canberra	3	December
	Tuggeranong	1	December
NSW	Bega	1	November
	Cooma	1	November
	Grafton	1	November
	Queanbeyan	1	December
	Wollongong	2	November
	Yass	1	December
Qld	Dalby	1	September
	Mareeba	1	September
	Rockhampton	1	September
	Toowoomba	1	September
	Warwick	1	September
	Wondai	1	September
NT	Booroloola	1	September
Total	-	18	,

lists licences which have been deferred and will be made available after the nominated dates.

See the ABA web site <www.aba.gov.au> for details of the 40 licences allocated to date.

Table 3: Licences for which applications are yet to be called

NT	Wagin Katherine	1
	Northampton Port Hedland	1
	Northam	1 -
	Merredin (Bruce Rock) Narrogin	1
	Margaret River	1
	Mandurah	1
	Katanning	1
	Kalgoorlie	2
	Geraldton	2
	Collie	1
	Bunbury	1
VA	Bridgetown	1
SA	Riverland	1
	Palm Island	1
	Mackay	1
Qld	Cherbourg	1
	Walwa/Jingellic	1
	Corryong	1
	Swan Hill	1
/ic	Mildura	1
	Mudgee '	1
	Lord Howe Island	1
VVCV	Deniliquin Lithgow	1
ISW	Dopiliquip	licences
Area		No. of licences

Table 4: Deferred licences

Qld	Mt Beauty Gayndah	1	8 October 1999 28 October 1999
Vic	Moree	1	22 July 2000
	Moss Vale	1	September 2000
	Milton/Ulladulla	1	September 2000
	Inverell	1	8 July 2000
	Gunnedah	1	22 July 2000
NSW	Glen Innes	1	8 July 2000
	Area	No. of licences	Licences available after