Workplan for allocating community broadcasting licences

The ABA has made 120 new community broadcasting radio licences available as a result of its planning process. The ABA has allocated 65 licences (25 in the period from September 1999 to March 2000) and is currently considering the allocation of 16 more (see table 1).

Licences listed in table 2 are those for which there is no

known aspirant or the ABA has given the aspirant time to develop its service before calling for applications. Table 3 lists licences which have been deferred and will be made available after the nominated dates.

See the ABA web site <www.aba.gov.au> for details of the 65 licences allocated to date.

Table	1:	Licence	allocations	In	progress

Area		No. of licences	Closing date
ACT	Canberra	3	closed
	Tuggeranong	1	closed
NSW	Blacktown	1	closed
	Campbelltown	1	closed
	Hornsby	1	closed
	Penrith	1	closed
	Sydney	3	closed
	Queanbeyan	1	closed
	Yass	1	closed
Total		13	

Table 3: Deferred allocations

	Area	No. of licences	Licences available after
NSW	Cooma	1	March 2001
	Glen Innes	1	8 July 2000
	Gunnedah	1	22 July 2000
	Inverell	1	8 July 2000
	Milton/Ulladulla	1	September 2000
	Moss Vale	1	September 2000
	Moree	1	22 July 2000
	Narrabri	1	November 2000
	Wollongong	1	March 2001
Vic	Mt Beauty	1	October 2000
Qld	Gayndah	1	October 2000
	Total	11	

Table 2: Licences for which applications are yet to be called

Area		No. of licences
NSW	Deniliquin	1
	Lithgow	1
	Lord Howe Island	1
	Mudgee	1
Vic	Mildura	1
	Swan Hill	1
	Corryong	1
	Walwa/Jingellic	1
Qld	Cherbourg	1
	Mackay	1
	Palm Island	1
SA	Riverland	1
WA	Bridgetown	1
	Bunbury	1
	Collie	1
	Geraldton	2
	Kalgoorlie	2
	Katanning	1
	Mandurah	1
	Margaret River	1
	Merredin (Bruce Rock)	1
	Narrogin	1
	Northam	1
	Northampton	1
	Port Hedland	1
	Wagin	1
NT	Katherine	1
Territories	Christmas Island	1
	Cocos Island	1
Total		31