

The ABA invites written submissions on radio services in the radio markets of Murrumbidgee/Riverina, Gippsland, Western Victoria, South East South Australia, Spencer Gulf and Tasmania.

in regional NSW, Victoria, South Australia and Tasmania

views on radio services be made available.' in the radio markets of **Submissions**

wide cross section of the com- below. munity in these areas — people in the industry, The ABA has divided Aus-

Murrumbidgee/Riverina, The ABA invites written sub-Gippsland, Western Victoria, missions from existing and South East South Australia, potential broadcasting licen-Spencer Gulf and Tasmania. sees and people who live in 'We want to hear from a the areas listed in the table

Planning

representatives of community tralia into 23 radio licence groups, anyone who listens to area planning zones and has radio,' said Professor Flint. arranged those zones into five 'This is an opportunity for the priority groups. Planning for people of these regions to priority groups 1, 2 and 3 is have their say about any re- complete. Planning for group ception or interference prob- 4 (the metropolitan areas) is lems with existing services and under way: the licence area express their views about what plan for Sydney was com-

♦ The ABA is canvassing kind of new services should pleted in December 1999 and a final licence area plan for Melbourne, Geelong and Colac is expected to be released this month. A draft licence area plan for Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Richmond/Tweed Gympie is also expected to be released at this time. The ABA expects to complete licence area plans for the Perth and Adelaide metropolitan markets by mid 2001.

> At the time the planning priorities were determined, group 5 was assigned lowest priority due to low expressed demand to provide new services and the relatively small size of communities within the zones.

Group 5 also consists of nine television planning zones. Previously, when planning for a group that contains both radio and television zones, there has been a concurrent call for submissions. Given the high priority for digital television planning and because new analog television services will have an adverse impact on digital channel capacity, the ABA has decided that group 5 analog television licence area plans will be finalised following completion of regional digital channel plans. The ABA will therefore make a separate call for submissions for television planning in these regions. 9

Zone Zone name Major towns

R10	Murrumbidgee/Riverina	Wagga Wagga, Griffith, Cowra,
		Young , Leeton, Tumut, Cootamundra
R12	Gippsland	Traralgon, Moe-Yallourn, Morwell, Sale,
		Bairnsdale, Warragul, Wonthaggi
R13	Northern Tasmania	Launceston, Devonport, Burnie,
		Ulverstone, Georgetown, Wynyard,
		Queenstown
R14	Southern Tasmania	Hobart, Kingston, Bridgewater,
		New Norfolk, Sorell
R17	Western Victoria	Warrnambool, Horsham, Portland,
		Hamilton, Stawell
R18	SE South Australia	Mount Gambier, Murray Bridge,
		Mount Barker, Victor Harbor,
		Naracoorte, Millicent, Goolwa
R20	Spencer Gulf	Whyalla, Port Augusta, Port Pirie,
		Port Lincoln, Kadina, Clare

Submissions

Closing date 5.00 p.m. 30 June 2000.

Submitters are advised to obtain a copy of the information booklet for their zone. These are on the ABA web site at: <www.aba.gov.au/what/broplan licence_area_plan.ntm> or call the ABA on (02) 6256 2826.

The booklets can also be viewed at local public libraries.

Send submissions to:

by email: group5sub@aba.gov.au

by mail: Planning Officer for [zone name]

Planning and Licensing Branch Australian Broadcasting Authority

PO Box 34

Belconnen ACT 2616

Submissions must quote the relevant file number (given in the information booklet).

JUNE 2000 5