

Workplan for the allocation of community broadcasting licences

The ABA has made 183 new community radio licences available since 1995 under the planning process, and 107 of those licences have been allocated.

Of the remaining 76 licences, the allocation process has begun for 23 (see table 1), and 15 are due to commence allocation in the next 12 months. The remaining have no established aspirants. Further, there are temporary frequencies available and subject to review by the ABA. Table 3 lists the unallocated licences.

There are currently a total of 392 long-term community radio and television broadcasting licensees (this includes licences allocated prior to 1995). The ABA allocated 24 community radio licences in the 12 months to July 2002 (see table 2).

The information presented in these tables is correct as at 19 August 2002.



Table 2: Licences allocated in the 12 months to July 2002

Table 1:	Licence	allocations	in	progress

Area	served	Application deadline	No. of licences
NSW	Ballina	Closed	1
	Cooma	Closed	1
	Gosford	Closed	3
	Sydney	23 Sep 02	1
	Yass	Closed	1
QLD	Nambour	Closed	2
SA	Mt Gambier	Closed	1
	Port Adelaide	Closed	1
	Port Pirie	Closed	1
	Victor Harbor	Closed	2
	Yorke Peninsular	r Closed	1
VIC	Latrobe Valley	Closed	1
	Warragul	Closed	1
WA	Armadale	Closed	1
	Freemantle	Closed	1
	Kalamunda	Closed	1
	Perth	Closed	1
	Wanneroo	Closed	1
Total			24

Area s	erved	Decision date	Frequency	Licensee
NSW	Ballina	Jul 2002	101.9 MHz	Paradise FM Community Radio Association Inc.
	Byron Bay	Dec 2001	99.9 MHz	Bay FM Community Radio Inc. (Bay FM)
	Casino	Jun 2002	107.9 MHz	Casino's Own Wireless Association Inc.
	Coraki	Jun 2002	88.9 MHz	Community Radio Coraki Association Inc.
	Nimbin	Jun 2002	102.3 MHz	Nimbin Indepenent Media Inc.
QLD	Beaudesert	Feb 2002	101.5 MHz	Beaudesert Community Radio Group Inc.
	Brisbane	Aug 2001	96.5 MHz	Family Radio Ltd
	Brisbane	Dec 2001	1197 kHz	Brisbane Interactive Group Inc.
	Cunnamulla	Aug 2001	99.7 MHz	Cunnamulla Aboriginal Media Association
	Gayndah	Oct 2001	91.5 MHz	Central Burnett Community Radio Inc.
	Gold Coast	Nov 2001	107.3 MHz	Christian Air Broadcasters Inc.
	Gold Coast	Nov 2001	105.7 MHz	Radio Metro Ltd
	Gold Coast	Nov 2001	94.1 MHz	Radio Hope Island Inc.
	Gympie	Jan 2002	91.5 MHz	Cooloolah Christian Radio Association Inc.
	Noosa	Feb 2002	101.3 MHz	Noosa District Community FM Radio Association Inc.
SA	Adelaide	Dec 2001	92.7 MHz	Fresh Broadcasters Inc.
	Adelaide Foothills	Dec 2001	99.9 MHz	Music Broadcasting Society of South Australia Inc.
	Barossa Valley	Dec 2001	89.1 MHz	Barossa Broadcasting Board Inc.
VIC	Colac	Oct 2001	104.7 MHz	Otway FM Community Radio Group
	Geelong	Sep 2001	99.5 MHz	Vision Australia Foundation
	Melbourne City	Dec 2001	94.9 MHz	Joy Melbourne Inc.
	Melbourne	Dec 2001	1503 kHz	The South Eastern Indigenous Media Association Inc.
	Melbourne	Dec 2001	89.9 MHz	Triple Seven Communications Inc.
	Melbourne	Dec 2001	90.7 MHz	Student Youth Network Inc.
WA	Geraldton	Nov 2001	97.3 MHz	Soncity FM Inc.

Table 3: Unallocated licences available

Area se	rved	Licence no./ frequency MHz	Temporary broadcasters
NSW	Blacktown	SL1150152 / 99.9	3
	Deniliquin	SL010409 / 100.9	0
	Coffs Harbour	* / 94.1	1
	Coonabarabran	*/99.5	1
	Coonamble	*/91.9	1
	Cootamundra	SL1150801 / 106.7	1
	Cowra	SL1150800/91.9	1
	Eden	* / 104.7	1
	Gilgandra	*/98.9	1
	Glen Innes	SL1150036 / 105.9	1
	Gunnedah	SL1150101 / 104.7	0
	Inverell	SL1150086 / 91.9	0
	Lithgow	SL010282 / 90.5	1
	Lord Howe Is.	SL010247 / 100.1	1
	Milton/Ulladulla	SL1150166 / 102.7	0
	Moranbah	*/96.9	1
	Moree	SL1150102 / 104.5	0
	Moss Vale	SL1150174/92.5	0
	Mudgee	SL010102/97.1	0
	Murwillumbah	SL1150716 / 101.3	
	Narrandera	SL1150802/92.3	0
	Taree	* / 106.5	1
	Tumbarumba	* / 107.7	1
	Tumut	SL1150803 / 96.3	1
	Wagga Wagga	SL1150770 / 101.9	1
	Wollongong	SL1150266/93.3	1
	Young	SL1150771/92.3	0
NT	Katherine	SL010170 / 102.9	0
QLD	Boonah	SL1150749 / 100.1	1
	Blackwater/Emer	rald * / 92.7	1
	Cairns	* / 101.9	1
	Caloundra	*/91.1	1
	Charleville	* / 105.7	1
	Cherbourg	SL1150098 / 94.1	1
	Esk	SL1150748/96.9	0
1			

SL1150019 / 105.9

*/96.9

SL1150090 / 97.3

Mackay

Moranbah

Palm Island

Area ser		Licence no./ b equency MHz	Temporary roadcasters
SA	Coober Pedy	* / 104.5	1
	Renmark/Loxton/Mo	rgan SL010177 / 93.9	0
TAS	3	SL1150789 / 95.3	1
	Hobart South		_
	Northern Midlands	SL1150790 / 95.7	' 1
	Scottsdale/St Heler	ns SL1150792/93.7	0
	Tasman Peninsular	SL1150788 / 97.7	' 1
Territories	Christmas Island	SL010362 / 102.1	1
	Cocos Island	SL010363 / 96.0	1
VIC	Corryong	SL1150020 / 94.9	1
	Horsham	SL1150779 / 96.5	5 1
	Mildura	SL010097 / 92.3	0
	Mount Beauty	SL1150015 / 92.5	0
		SL1150003/99.1	- 1
	Walwa/Jingellic	SL1150022 / 88.7	' 1
WA	Bridgetown	SL010063 / 96.5	0
	Bruce Rock (Merredin	n) SL010318 / 100.9	0
	Bunbury	SL010066 / 855 kH	lz 0
	Collie	SL010062 / 108.9	0
	Kalgoorlie	SL010334 / 99.5	0
	Kalgoorlie	SL010341 / 96.3	0
	Katanning	SL010069 /1197kH	łz 0
	Mandurah	SL010061 /1350kH	łz 0
	Margaret River	SL010068 /1332kH	łz 0
	Narrogin	SL010084 / 103.5	0
	Northam	SL010085 / 954 kH	lz 0
	Northampton	SL010346 / 106.1	0
	Port Hedland	SL010343 / 101.3	1
	Wagin	SL010086 / 693 kH	lz 0

SEPTEMBER 2002 17

^{(*} indicates available temporary frequencies yet to be considered by the ABA for long term availability).