Channels for digital television repeater services proposed in inland NSW

In April 2006, ACMA released proposals to allot and assign digital channels for television repeater services at inland New South Wales locations. In each area, ACMA also identified as yet unassigned channels that may be used for other purposes, including datacasting.

The areas are Adelong, Braidwood, Captains Flat, Cobar, Condobolin, Coolah, Cowra, Jindabyne, Nyngan, Oberon, Talbingo, Thredbo, Tumbarumba, Tumut, Young and Hay.

ACMA also proposed to increase the maximum effective radiated power from 50 kW to 100 kW for the digital television channels allotted and assigned for Cooma-Monaro.

In releasing these proposals, ACMA considered the aim of spectrum efficiency, the need to minimise any changes that viewers will have to make to their existing reception equipment to receive digital broadcasts and the desirability of broadcasters being able to use their existing infrastructure to broadcast their digital television services.

The proposals are contained in a discussion paper and draft variation to the commercial and national digital channel plans.

ACMA was required by Schedule 4 of the Broadcasting Services Act 1992 to formulate legislative schemes for the conversion of commercial and

national television broadcasting services from analog to digital mode. The Commercial Television Conversion Scheme and National Television Conversion Schemes were formulated in 1999 and varied in December 2000 and January

Under these schemes, ACMA can develop and vary digital channel plans for areas throughout Australia. The digital channel plans determine which channels are to be allotted to each licensee for the purposes of transmitting services in digital mode and the technical characteristics of those channels.

One of the objectives in developing and varying digital channel plans is to plan channel allotments to enable broadcasters to plan their digital transmission coverage to achieve the same level of coverage as with its analog coverage.

The table lists the proposed assignment of channels for the digital television repeater services in the draft variation to the inland New South Wales digital channel plans. The draft variations are on the ACMA website at www.acma.gov.au (go to Latest > For Comment > Broadcasting > Draft digital channel plans), or contact ACMA on telephone (free call) 1800 810 241. Submissions closed on Friday 12 May 2006.

| Area served | Mode | | | | | | | |
|---------------|---------|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|-----------------|--------------|------|
| Adelong | | ABMN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 67 ¹ | 55 ¹ | 58 ¹ | 64 | 61 | _ | |
| | Digital | | | | 65 | 62 | 49 | 52 |
| Braidwood | Digital | ABN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | ٥. |
| | Analog | 57 | 54/69 | 66 | 60 | 63 | - | |
| | Digital | 56 | 53 | 65 | 59 | 62 | 50 | 6 |
| Captains Flat | | ABC | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 55 ² | 52 ² | 64 ² | 58 | 61 ² | | |
| | Digital | | | - | 59 | - | 50 | 6 |
| Condobolin | Digital | ABN | SBS | CBN | IMP | QQQ | Unassigned | - 0. |
| | Analog | 2 | 12 | 10 | 93 | 7 ³ | - Chassighed | |
| | Digital | 6 | 11 | 9A | 9 | | 28 | 29 |
| | Digital | ABN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | ۷: |
| | Λ Ι | | | | | | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 65 | 56 ⁴ | 68 | 59 | 62 | _ | |
| | Digital | 64 | 55 | 67 | 58 | 61 | 52 | 53 |
| Coolah | | ABQN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 56 | 53 | 59 | _ | 62 | | - |
| | Digital | 55 | 52 | 58 | | 61 | 51 | 67 |
| Cowra | | ABCN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 63 | 45/60 | 51/66 | 54 | 57 | | - |
| | Digital | 62 | 59 | 65 | 53 | 56 | 49 | 52 |
| Jindabyne | | ABSN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 60 | 69 | 63 | 66 | 57 | _ | |
| | Digital | 59 | 53 | 62 | 65 | 56 | 52 | 55 |
| Nyngan | | ABN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 3 | | 66 | | 60 | - | - |
| Ohous: | Digital | 53 | - | 65 | - OTO | 59 | 51 | 52 |
| Oberon | | ABN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 57 | 54 ⁵ | 66 ⁵ | 60 ⁵ | 63 ⁵ | - | - |
| | Digital | 56 | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Talbingo | | ABMN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 67 ⁶ | 55 ⁶ | 58 ⁶ | 64 | 61 | _ | - |
| | Digital | | _ | _ | 63 | 60 | 49 | 52 |
| Thredbo | | ABN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 34 | 31 | 46 | 40 | 43 | | _ |
| | Digital | 33 | 30 | 45 | 39 | 42 | 36 | 48 |
| Tumbarumba | a . | ABMN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 66 ⁷ | 57 ⁷ | 69 | 63 ⁷ | 60 ⁷ | _ | |
| | Digital | | | 59 | | | 49 | 52 |
| Tumut | Digital | ABMN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 57 | 54 | 60 | 66 | 63 | - | |
| | Digital | 53 | 56 | 59 | 65 | 62 | 49 | 52 |
| Young | | ABMN | SBS | CBN | CTC | WIN | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 11 | 58 | 6 | 64 | 61 | - | |
| | Digital | 10 | 57 | 7 | 63 | 60 | 54 | 66 |
| Нау | J | ABGN | SBS | AMN | MTN | | Unassigned | |
| | Analog | 66 | 60 | 63 | 57 | | | _ |
| | | 55 | 61 | 64 | 56 | | 38 | 53 |

I Retransmission services licensed to Tumut Shire Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan. 3 Retransmission services licensed to Palerang Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan. 3 Retransmission services licensed to Cobar Shire Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan. 4 SBS analog service to commence in the future. 5 Retransmission services licensed to Oberon Shire Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan. 6 Retransmission services licensed to Palerang Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan. 7 Retransmission services licensed to Palerang Council – these services are not included in the digital channel plan.