Regional broadcasters meet local content requirements

Regional commercial television licensees serving the aggregated licence areas of regional Queensland, northern and southern New South Wales and regional Victoria have reported that they met their obligations to provide local content for the period 24 July 2005 to 4 February 2006.

A licence condition requires broadcasters in these areas to achieve a minimum score for local or licence area content of 90 points per week and a minimum of 720 points over a six-week timing period. Broadcasters must broadcast in each of their local areas sufficient 'material of local significance' to accumulate the number of points required to meet the quotas. Broadcasters report their compliance figures to ACMA every six months.

In 2004, following the first full year of the licence condition's operation, an independent preliminary evaluation of the implementation of the condition was carried out. The evaluation was to gather information about its effectiveness and ensure that the requirements were understood. It found that all licensees were meeting their point quotas under the licence condition. It also concluded that the condition had been effective in generating sufficient local programming for each of the audited licensees to comply with the condition's local area broadcast requirements.

The Broadcasting Services (Additional Licence Condition) Notice 7 April 2003 imposed the additional condition after an investigation responding to community concerns about the closure of news bureaus by Southern Cross Broadcasting in Alice Springs, Cairns, Canberra, Darwin and Townsville, and the cutting of local news bulletins in Canberra, Newcastle and Wollongong by Prime TV.

The condition applies to the four aggregated regional licence areas on the eastern seaboard, which have been divided into specific local areas. Each regional licence area contains between four to seven local areas, with 51 local areas in total.

Regional licensees must serve local areas in each licence area as follows:

- five out of seven local areas in Regional Queensland;
- four out of five local areas in Northern New South Wales;
- all four local areas in Southern New South Wales and Regional Victoria.

Eleven of these licensees form part of regional networks WIN, Prime and Southern Cross Broadcasting. The other two are Seven Queensland, a member of the Seven Network, and NBN, which is independently owned.

Quota points accrue on the basis of two points per minute for the broadcast of local news and one point per minute for the broadcast of other material classified as either local material that is not news, or material that is relevant to the licence area. Points may only be accumulated for material that is broadcast during the 'eligible periods', which are: 6.30 am to midnight on weekdays and 8.00 am to midnight on weekends. Paid advertising or sponsorship is not eligible to accrue points. Compliance figures and the evaluation of the implementation of local content licence conditions are on the ACMA website at www.acma.gov.au (go to Radio & TV > Content regulation > Television > Content requirements > Local content).

LOCAL AREAS SERVED BY REGIONAL LICENSEES

LUCAL AREAS SERVED DI REGIONAL LIGENSEES					
Local area served	NBN	Prime	WIN	SCB	7 Qld
Licence area – Regional Queensland					
Capricornia	n/a	n/a	Yes	Yes	
Central Coast & Whitsundays	n/a	n/a		Yes	Yes
Darling Downs	n/a	n/a	Yes	Yes	
Far North Queensland	n/a	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes
North Queensland	n/a	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes
Sunshine Coast	n/a	n/a	Yes		Yes
Wide Bay	n/a	n/a			Yes
Licence area – Northern New South W	/ales				
Central Coast	Yes		n/a		n/a
Hunter	Yes	Yes	n/a	Yes	n/a
Northern Rivers & Mid Nth Coast	Yes	Yes	n/a	Yes	n/a
North West Slopes & Plains	Yes	Yes	n/a	Yes	n/a
Richmond/Tweed		Yes	n/a	Yes	n/a
Licence area – Southern New South W	/ales				
ACT & Southern Tablelands	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
Central Tablelands & Central West Slopes	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
Sth West Slopes & East Riverina	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
Illawarra & South Coast	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
Licence area – Regional Victoria					
Gippsland	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
North Central Victoria	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
South West Victoria	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a
Upper Murray & Goulburn Valley	n/a	Yes	Yes	Yes	n/a