Census date for annual numbering charge announced

ACMA recently announced that the census date for the 2007 annual numbering charge applying to telephone numbers held by carriage service providers will be Sunday, 1 April. Numbers that are no longer required can be surrendered until the surrender embargo begins on 12 March 2007.

ACMA administers the collection of the charge under the Telecommunications (Numbering Charges) Act 1997, the Telecommunications Act 1997 and a series of five determinations made by ACMA under those Acts. Each year, the determinations set the census date and the amounts of charge, the types of numbers exempted, when payment is due and late payment penalty provisions. The standard charge for 2007 will be determined after the census

The charge for a particular number depends on its length and the type of service provided. The standard charge is set for a 10-digit number (for example, numbers used for mobile phone services) and increases by a factor of 10 for each digit reduction in the number's length. The maximum charge for any one number is \$100.000. Some numbers, such as internal network service numbers, are charged at a discounted rate. The 2006 charge was \$0.90870507, which means that 10-digit numbers were charged at approximately \$0.91 each, nine-digit numbers at \$9.10 each, eightdigit numbers at \$91.00 each and so on.

ACMA will continue to provide all affected providers with information during the process. The numbers exempted from charge on the census date are listed on the ACMA website at www.acma.gov.au. The determinations will be posted on the website when they are made.

For more information about numbering charges, contact ACMA's Telecommunications Licensing and Numbering Section by email to numbering@acma.gov.au or telephone 03 9963 6800.

New telephone number prefixes allocated for areas of rural NSW

ACMA has created a new telephone number prefix for the wider Tamworth and Barraba areas of New South Wales. Phone numbers beginning with the prefix (02) 57 are being issued in the areas, as the supply of numbers beginning with the current prefix (02) 67 is running out.

The new (02) 57 prefix is one of 29 new telephone prefixes ACMA has allocated across Australia. The need for new telephone numbers is growing due to increased demand for additional phone lines and competition between new telecommunications service providers.

In the Tamworth and Barraba areas, local numbers can now begin with either (02) 57 or (02) 67 and telephone users should not change a number prefix because it looks unfamiliar. The new numbers will only be issued to residents and businesses requesting new phone lines. Existing numbers will not be affected by the introduction of the new prefix.

Businesses using PABX and Commander systems may need to reprogram their systems to recognise the new numbers and enable calls to be connected.

The cost of calls will not be affected by the introduction of the new numbers.

Under the Telecommunications Act 1997. ACMA is required to maintain a Telecommunications Numbering Plan, which provides for the availability, allocation and portability of numbers in Australia, including their use, transfer and withdrawal. The Numbering Plan covers geographic, freephone (1800) and local rate (13, 1300), premium rate (1900) and mobile phone numbers.

Geographic numbers are 10-digit numbers starting with 02, 03, 07 and 08 used for local services in Australia. Geographic numbers contain information about where the service is located, including the state and region, and may give additional information about the general locality of a number

New geographic numbers are created when a number range has been fully allocated in an area. Stocks of telephone numbers set aside for different areas of Australia run out over time, and new prefixes are introduced to meet demand. New number ranges are developed in consultation with ACMA's Numbering Advisory Committee, which comprises representatives from telephone companies, Commonwealth and state government agencies, and organisations representing consumer and user interests.

More information about telephone numbers and the new prefixes is on the ACMA website at www.acma.gov.au (go to For licensees & industry: Service & technical requirements > Telecommunications: numbering).

New NSW number prefixes

Existing

Area	Existing prefix	new prefix
Newcastle	(02) 49	(02) 40
Bathurst	(02) 63	(02) 53
Cowra	(02) 63	(02) 53
Lithgow	(02) 63	(02) 53
Mudgee	(02) 63	(02) 53
Orange	(02) 63	(02) 53
Rylstone	(02) 63	(02) 53
Young	(02) 63	(02) 53
Kempsey	(02) 65	(02) 55
Murwillumbah	(02) 65	(02) 55
Muswellbrook	(02) 65	(02) 55
Singleton	(02) 65	(02) 55
Taree	(02) 65	(02) 55
Wauchope	(02) 65	(02) 55
Casino	(02) 66	(02) 56
Grafton	(02) 66	(02) 56
Kyogle	(02) 66	(02) 56
Lismore	(02) 66	(02) 56
Armidale	(02) 67	(02) 57
Barraba	(02) 67	(02) 57
Glen Innes	(02) 67	(02) 57
Gunnedah	(02) 67	(02) 57
Moree	(02) 67	(02) 57
Narrabri	(02) 67	(02) 57
Tamworth	(02) 67	(02) 57
Bourke	(02) 68	(02) 58
Condobolin	(02) 68	(02) 58
Coonamble	(02) 68	(02) 58
Dubbo	(02) 68	(02) 58
Forbes	(02) 68	(02) 58
Nyngan	(02) 68	(02) 58
Parkes	(02) 68	(02) 58
Wellington	(02) 68	(02) 58
Adelong	(02) 69	(02) 59
Griffith	(02) 69	(02) 59
Нау	(02) 69	(02) 59
Narrandera	(02) 69	(02) 59
Temora	(02) 69	(02) 59
Wagga Wagga	(02) 69	(02) 59
West Wyalong	(02) 69	(02) 59