## [1986] Admin Review 98

Hughes Rill

'Social Security Appeals Tribunals: Independence vs DSS member?' (1985) 10 <u>Legal Service Bulletin</u> 280
Nicholson, R.D. 'Administrative law: income taxation' (1985) 13 Australian Business Law Review 94
Opas, P.H.N. 'Representation of parties before tribunals' (1985) 59 Australian Law Journal 463
Richardson, Jack 'Lawyers should make more use of administrative channels' (1985) 20 <u>Australian Law News</u> 18
& Kevin Sainsbury 'The Commonwealth Ombudsman and the Australian Taxation Office' (1985) 20 Taxation in Australia 299
Santamaria, Joseph 'Taxation and the review of administration' (1985) 5 <u>Australian Accountant</u> 35
Smith, Loren A. 'Judicialization: the twilight of administrative law' (1985) <u>Duke Law Journal</u> .427
PERSONALIA
Administrative Review Council

Dr John Griffiths has resigned as Director of Research with the Administrative Review Council. Dr Griffiths was director for 3 years and leaves the Council to go into private practice with Dawson Waldron, Solicitors, in Sydney. Mr Denis O'Brien, of the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is presently acting as the Director of Research following Dr Griffiths' resignation.

# Administrative Appeals Tribunal

### **APPOINTMENTS**

In November, nineteen part-time members were appointed to sit on the Veterans' Appeals Division of the AAT. They are as follows:

A.C.T. Norman Attwood
Dr Eric Stephenson

N.S.W.

John Hooper
Trevor Russel1
Steven Crawshaw
Dr Maxwell Thorpe

Victoria Brian Gibbs
Alfred Argent
Judith Maher

Dr John Barrie Morley

Queensland

Ivan Brumfield
Trevor Gibson
Dr John Francis

Dahama Danama

S.A. Robert Rogers
Dr Donald Dowie

W.A. Kenneth Taylor
Dr Peter Stayer

Tasmania <u>David Kearney</u> <u>Dr William McLaren Thomson</u>

Mr David Kearney and Mr Norman Attwood have also been assigned to the General Administrative Division of the AAT.

Two medical practitioners have been appointed as part-time members in Perth and Canberra. They are <u>Dr Norman Marinovich</u> in Perth and <u>Dr Desmond Benedict Travers in Canberra.</u>

## [1986] Admin Review 100

#### **RE-APPOINTMENTS**

Mr Ian Ambrose Wilkins has been reappointed for a further term until 25 July 1990.

Admin Review is a quarterly bulletin concerned with informing government, private organisations and individuals about developments in federal administrative law and procedure. It is produced under the auspices of the Administrative Review Council but the views expressed in the bulletin are not necessarily the views of the Council or any of its members. Although every care is taken in the preparation of the publication, no liability is accepted in respect of matters published in it. The purpose of the bulletin is to provide general information and not legal advice. Readers should check carefully the detail of legislation, cases and other material included in the bulletin. All inquiries concerning the bulletin, other than subscription inquiries, should be directed to the editor (address on front cover). Subscription inquiries should be directed to the Australian Government Publishing Service.

© Commonwealth of Australia 1986 Published for the Administrative Review Council by the Australian Government Publishing Service, Canberra 1986

R85/980 Cat. No. 86 0222 9

Printed by Canberra Publishing & Printing, Canberra, A.C.T.