PERSONALIA

Administrative Review Council

Appointments

Since the last issue of *Admin Review*, there have been three appointments made to the Administrative Review Council.

On 24 June 1997, the Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, the Hon Daryl Williams AM QC MP, announced the appointment of Mr William James Blick as a part-time member of the Council.

Mr Blick, an Executive Coordinator in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, has over thirty years experience in the Australian Public Service and extensive experience at a high level in public administration. From 1985 to 1986 he was Deputy Commonwealth Ombudsman and from 1986 to 1996 he held various senior appointments as a First Assistant Secretary in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

On 14 July 1997, the Attorney announced the appointment of Ms Christine Charles and Mr Wayne Martin QC as part-time members of the Council.

Ms Charles, Deputy-Chief Executive Officer of the South Australian Department of the Premier and Cabinet, has extensive high-level experience in public administration. She has also held senior positions in a number of South Australian Government Departments as well as appointments to various statutory and administrative bodies.

Mr Wayne Martin QC is a leading member of the Western Australian Bar. He has practised law in a number of jurisdictions. As a former officer of the Administrative Review Council and of the Department of Immigration and Ethnic Affairs, Mr Martin also has an extensive knowledge of administrative law and public administration.

Each appointment is for three years.

Expiry of Appointments

The appointments of Professor Marcia Neave as President of the Council and Mr Alan Robertson SC as a member of the Council expired at the end of September 1997.

Former President of Council Appointed to the Court of Appeal

Dr Sue Kenny QC, a former President of the Administrative Review Council, has been appointed to the Court of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Victoria.

Justice Kenny took up her appointment in July.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Since the last edition of Admin Review, Brigadier Ivan Wilson Brumfield has been re-appointed as a part-time Member of the Tribunal (from 17 September 1997 until 31 December 1998). Mr Terry Sheahan, a part-time Member, resigned following his appointment to the NSW Land and Environment Court.

Social Security Appeals Tribunal

Mr Julian Gardner's term as National Convenor of the Social Security Appeals Tribunal ended on 21 September 1997.

Mr Gardner has been appointed President of the Victorian Mental Health Review Board.

Community Services Appeals Tribunal

Ms Robin Gurr's term as first President of the NSW Community Services Appeals Tribunal ended in May 1997. Nancy Hennessy has been appointed as the second President. Ms Hennessy was previously Legal and Policy Manager at the NSW Anti-Discrimination Board. Admin

Review

175

[1997]

Admin

Review

New Chairman of the Australian Press Council

Emeritus Professor Dennis Pearce has been appointed as Chairman of the Australian Press Council. Professor Pearce was a former Commonwealth Ombudsman and member of the Administrative Review Council. He is also a member of the editorial committee for *Admin Review*.

Professor Pearce took up his position on 1 November 1997. He replaces Professor David Flint who has resigned to take up the position of chairman of the Australian Broadcasting Authority.

Admin Review is a regular bulletin concerned with informing government, private organisations and individuals about developments in federal administrative law and procedure. It is produced under the auspices of the Administrative Review Council but the views expressed in the bulletin are those of the editor or writer and not necessarily the views of the Council or any of its members or the members of any of its committees. Although every care is taken in the preparation of the publication, no liability is accepted in respect of matters published in it. The purpose of the bulletin is to provide general information and not legal advice. Readers should carefully check the detail of legislation, cases and other material included in the bulletin. All inquiries concerning the bulletin should be directed to the editor (address on front cover).