Reward Australia's great teachers

Nominations called for the Australian Teachers Prizes for Excellence and the ASG Excellence in Teaching Awards

he commonwealth government in partnership with the Australian Scholarships Group through the NEITA Foundation presents the Australian Teachers Prizes for Excellence and The ASG Excellence in Teaching Awards. The award pool includes \$100 000 in prizes and school endowments for regional award recipients, and \$280 000 in prizes, grants and school endowments for national award recipients.

These awards provide the community with the opportunity to encourage, recognise, honour and reward the work of excellent, dedicated, talented, innovative, and inspiring teachers — both generally and in a number of priority educational areas. These teachers' efforts often go unrecognised, but in this honours program, it is the teachers who go to the top of the class.

The combined Awards are the only national awards for teachers in Australia which are based on nomination by parents and students as well as teachers, principals, teacher professional associations, education authorities and the business community.

The NEiTA Foundation is a community initiative of the Australian Scholarships

Group, which is the largest independent provider of educational assistance and support services in Australia and New Zealand.

The foundation was established as a non-profit corporation to manage the ASG National Excellence in Teaching Awards and to promote excellence in teaching.

The Commonwealth Government's intention to provide new awards for teaching excellence was announced as a part of the September 2000 launch by Dr David Kemp, the Minister for Education, Training and Youth Affairs, of 'Teachers for the 21st Century' [http://www.detya.gov.au/schools/ Publications/reports/t21/t21.htm]. This major \$80m funding initiative is part of the Commonwealth's contribution to strengthening Australia's teaching profession, recognising that excellent teaching is the foundation upon which our young people build their futures. 'Teachers for the 21st Century' supports primary and secondary teachers and school leaders throughout Australia to upgrade their skills to meet the challenges of working in an information rich, high technology environment.

The Commonwealth's partnership with ASG and the NEITA Foundation will con-

tinue for a new round of teaching excellence awards in 2001–2002, with regional awards to be presented in September 2001 and national awards in March 2002. For the new round, the Commonwealth is offering awards in three broad priority categories:

- enterprise and career education;
- science, maths, and information and communication technology; and
- rural and remote and Indigenous education.

School, education and business communities are urged to take up the challenge of supporting and encouraging teachers in their increasingly difficult role by nominating a representative of teaching excellence in their school or preschool.

Nomination forms are available from the NEiTA Secretariat, ASG Centre, 23–35 Hanover Street, Oakleigh, Victoria, 3166. Telephone 03 9276 7768 or 1800 624 487, fax 03 9726 7798, e-mail neita@asg.com.au or visit the NEiTA website at http://www.neita.com.

Nominations close 20 July 2001.



