ALIA BOARD ELECTION 2016

LIA Members - this is your opportunity to vote in the 2016 ALIA Board Election. This year, Members have the opportunity to vote for Directors in three categories:

- 1. Vice-President (President-elect)
- 2. Two general Board members
- 3. One Board member elected by Institutional ALIA Members.

The election will be held for all four Board positions that become available in May 2016. In practical terms, the role of the two general Board members and the Board member elected by Institutional ALIA Members are the same providing representation for all ALIA Members. However, our Constitution requires us to provide Institutional Members with the opportunity to vote for a Director as a discrete element of the election.

VICE PRESIDENT

Two experienced Members have nominated for the role of Vice President:



Vicki McDonald, Executive Director Library and Information Services and Dixson Librarian, State Library of New South Wales



Alan Smith, Director, State Library of South Australia

DIRECTOR

Nominations for the two general Director positions were received from ten candidates. The candidates are representative of the broad spectrum of sectors, interests and experience found amongst the ALIA membership.



Holger Aman, Reference Librarian, NSW Department of Justice Law Courts Library



Kym Andrews, Library Services Manager (WA & NT), Department of Defence



Jane Cowell, Director Engagement and Partnerships, State Library of Queensland



Penny Davies, Community Development Manager, Carrathool Shire Council



Roger Henshaw, Principal Consultant, Owner Roger Henshaw Consultancy Services



Annette McGuiness, UNSW Canberra Librarian



Marian Morgan-Bindon, City Librarian, Gold Coast



Malcolm O'Brien, Territory Manager NSW, QLD, NT Wavesound



Lyndall Osborne, Executive Director Collections, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies



Monika Szunejko, Director, Libraries Australia, National Library of Australia

INSTITUTIONAL DIRECTOR

Four Members have nominated for the Institutional Director position that will be elected by representatives of ALIA Institutional Members.



Annette McGuiness, UNSW Canberra Librarian



Marian Morgan-Bindon, City Librarian, Gold Coast



Lyndall Osborne, Executive Director Collections, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies



Monika Szunejko, Director, Libraries Australia, National Library of Australia

ELECTION PROCESS

CorpVote, an independent election specialist, has been appointed to manage the election process. Voting will open on Monday 7 March 2016 and close on Friday 8 April. Instructions for casting an internet vote will be emailed to eligible members by the election company. Members without a registered email address will receive voting material by mail. The successful candidates will take office at the Board meeting following the Annual General Meeting to be held on Wednesday 18 May 2016 and serve on the Board for two years. Four candidates have nominated in both the Institutional Director and general Director categories. In accordance with the ALIA By-laws, the successful candidate in the Institutional Director category will be excluded from the general Director category vote count.

WHO CAN VOTE?

All current personal members and institutional member representatives are entitled to take part in the election process. Members must be current financial members as of 8 January 2016.

MORE INFORMATION

You can read more and see all the background information on the candidates on the ALIA website: https://www.alia.org.au/elections