No. 22 of 1968

An Ordinance to amend the Interpretation Ordinance 1931-1962

[Assented to 18 June, 1968]

BE it ordained by the Legislative Council for the Northern Territory of Australia, in pursuance of the powers conferred by the Northern Territory (Administration) Act 1910-1968, as follows:—

1.—(1.) This Ordinance may be cited as the Interpretation Short title and citation Ordinance 1968.

- (2.) The Interpretation Ordinance 1931-1962 is in this Ordinance referred to as the Principal Ordinance.
- (3.) The Principal Ordinance, as amended by this Ordinance, may be cited as the Interpretation Ordinance 1931-1968.
 - 2. Section 6 of the Principal Ordinance is amended—

References to

- (a) by omitting the words "the Interpretation Ordinance 1952" (twice occurring) and inserting in their stead the words "the Interpretation Ordinance 1968": and
- (b) by omitting the words "or the Minister for the Interior," and inserting in their stead the words ", the Minister for the Interior, the Minister of State for Territories or the Minister for Territories.".
- 3. Section 7 of the Principal Ordinance is amended—
 - (a) by omitting the words "the Interpretation Ordinance 1952" (twice occurring) and inserting in their stead the words "the Interpretation Ordinance 1968"; and

Reference to Department to be read as reference to Department administering Northern Territory (Administration) Act

(b) by omitting the words "or the Department of the Interior," and inserting in their stead the words ", the Department of the Interior or the Department of Territories,".

R ferences to Government Secretary to be read as ref rences to an Assistant Administrator 4. Section 8A of the Principal Ordinance is amended by omitting the words "a reference to the Assistant Administrator, Administrative Branch, Northern Territory Administration Division, Department of Territories" and inserting in their stead the words "a reference to a person who holds an office, created under the *Public Service Act* 1922-1967, of Assistant Administrator, in the Northern Territory, in the Department of the Interior".