

CONSTITUTION AMENDMENT ACT 1992

No. 17 of 1992

TABLE OF PROVISIONS

- 1. Short title
- 2. Commencement
- 3. Principal Act
- 4. Section 14 amended (Qualification of members)
 5. Section 27 amended (Assembly divisions)
 6. Section 29 amended (Assembly electors)

- 7. Schedule 4 substituted

Schedule 4—House of Assembly Divisions

AN ACT to amend the Constitution Act 1934

[Royal Assent 30 July 1992]

DE it enacted by His Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and House of Assembly, in Parliament assembled, as follows:-

Short title

1—This Act may be cited as the Constitution Amendment Act 1992.

Commencement

2—This Act commences on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

Principal Act

3—In this Act, the Constitution Act 1934* is referred to as the Principal Act.

Section 14 amended (Qualification of members)

4—Section 14 (1) of the Principal Act is amended by omitting "or subdivision".

Section 27 amended (Assembly divisions)

- 5—Section 27 of the Principal Act is amended by omitting subsection (2) and substituting the following subsection:—
 - (2) The Electoral Divisions of the Assembly comprise the respective areas described in Schedule 4.

Section 29 amended (Assembly electors)

- 6-Section 29 of the Principal Act is amended as follows:
 - (a) by omitting from subsection (1) "subdivision" (first occurring) and substituting "division";
 - (b) by omitting from subsection (1) "the Assembly division of which that Assembly subdivision forms part" and substituting "that Assembly division";
 - (c) by omitting from subsection (2) all the words after "Assembly division" and substituting "for which that person is enrolled".

Schedule 4 substituted

7—Schedule 4 to the Principal Act is repealed and the following Schedule is substituted:—

^{* 25} Geo. V No. 94. For this Act, as amended up to and including 1 October 1979, see the continuing Reprint of Statutes. Subsequently amended by No. 78 of 1980, No. 2 of 1981, Nos. 9 and 16 of 1982, No. 36 of 1983, Nos. 7, 12 and 51 of 1985, Nos. 54 and 88 of 1986, No. 42 of 1988, No. 4 of 1990 and No. 33 of 1991.

No. 17 s. 7

SCHEDULE 4

Section 27

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY DIVISIONS

BASS

The areas bounded as indicated by heavy black lines on Plan 2428 in the Central Plan Register, including all offshore islands adjacent to the coast between Musselroe Point and Low Head and all islands south of latitude 39 degrees and 12 minutes being part of the Furneaux, Kent, Hogan and Curtis Groups.

BRADDON

The areas bounded as indicated by heavy black lines on Plan 2429 in the Central Plan Register, including all offshore islands adjacent to the coast between the River Mersey and Cape Grim.

DENISON

The area bounded as indicated by a heavy black line on Plan 2430 in the Central Plan Register.

FRANKLIN

The areas bounded as indicated by heavy black lines on Plan 2431 in the Central Plan Register, including all islands adjacent to the coast and including all islands belonging to Tasmania between South East Cape and the 60th degree of south latitude.

LYONS

The area bounded as indicated by heavy black lines on Plan 2432 in the Central Plan Register, including all offshore islands adjacent to the coast.

