Education (Retention of Schools)



EDUCATION (RETENTION OF SCHOOLS) ACT 1989

No. 60 of 1989

TABLE OF PROVISIONS

- 1. Short title
- 2. Commencement
- 3. Permanent closure of schools and special education facilities.

AN ACT to provide for the retention of certain schools

[Royal Assent 11 January 1990]

 \mathbf{B}^{E} it enacted by His Excellency the Governor of Tasmania, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and House of Assembly, in Parliament assembled, as follows:--

Short title

1—This Act may be cited as the *Education (Retention of Schools)* Act 1989.

Commencement

2-This Act commences on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

No. 60

Permanent closure of schools and special education facilities

3-Notwithstanding section 5 (4) of the *Education Act 1932*, the Minister responsible for education shall not-

- (a) before 1st January 1993, permanently close any of the following schools or special education facilities:—
 - (i) Ross Primary School;
 - (ii) Wivenhoe Primary School;
 - (iii) Westerway Primary School;
 - (iv) Chigwell Primary School;
 - (v) Charles Street Primary School;
 - (vi) Glen Huon Primary School;
 - (vii) Meander Primary School;
 - (viii) Yolla District High School;
 - (ix) Poatina Primary School;
 - (x) Wayatinah Primary School;
 - (xi) Moonah Primary School;
 - (xii) St Martin's Special School;
 - (xiii) Bruny Island District High School;
 - (xiv) New Town High School; or
- (b) before 1st January 1991, permanently close any of the following schools or special education facilities:--
 - (i) Swanston Street Kindergarten;
 - (ii) Judbury Primary School;
 - (iii) Flagstaff Primary School;
 - (iv) Sisters Creek Primary School.